HelpMeFind Roses, Clematis and Peonies
Roses, Clematis and Peonies
and everything gardening related.
RNRS Edland Fragrance Medal
Plant Types:Roses 
Description:[From The Rose Annual 1967, page 178.] The most important innovation during the last year was the introduction of the Henry Edland Memorial Medal for the most fragrant rose on trial. For many years it had been felt that the Clay challenge Vase for the most fragrant British-raised rose was not sufficient.....

[From A Family of Roses, by Sam McGredy and Sean Jennett, p. 23:] Among the most important trials and awards in the British Isles are those of the Royal National Rose Society, whose trial-grounds are at St. Albans. A panel of twenty judges examines the roses there at intervals throughout the season from June to September over two or three successive years.

The Henry Edland Memorial Medal, instituted in 1966, is awarded annually to the most fragrant seedling of the year, which must not be lower in quality than the standard of the Certificate of Merit. This medal has replaced the Clay Cup -- a similar award to British roses made before 1966...

[From the Royal National Rose Society's 1996 handbook, Roses to Enjoy, p. 9:] EM (Edland Medal for Fragrance) for the most fragrant award-winner. 

(Default) Country:United Kingdom
© 2023